Bruhn, Siglind

Siglind Bruhn is a musicologist, concert pianist, and interdisciplinary scholar. An independent researcher in music analysis/mucisology, she is presently affiliated with the University of Michigan as a Research Associate in Music and Humanities.

Arnold Schoenberg's Journey from Tone Poems to Kaleidoscopic Sound Colors
2023 1-4955-1076-X
"Scholars and audiences continue to debate whether the development of European music unfolded in parallel to that in the other arts, literature and the fine arts in particular. ...The five principle chapters of this book follow the major developmental steps through which Schoenberg passes in the course of the years 1899-1914. The introductory pages of each chapter illuminate the relevant aesthetic aim in the context of a few typical paintings and literary works created at the same time, with the aim of highlighting significant correspondences. The glances at cross-disciplinary parallels arise from a twofold intention. They lead lovers of literature and the fine arts to the recognition that the stylistic innovations with which they are familiar from paintings and poems, sculptures and Prose, architecture and drama created in the years preceding World War I have their counterparts in music. ....[They indicate that] Schoenberg's development in this phase of his creative life to be unique." -Siglind Bruhn (Preface) This book was originally published in 2015 by Pendragon Press.

Price: $239.95

Images and Ideas in Modern French Piano Music: The Extra-Musical Subtext in Piano Works by Ravel, Debussy, and Messiaen
2016 1-4955-1108-1
"This study undertakes to show that some music can be understood as portraying and nuancing, commenting on and interpreting a non-musical stimulus, and to elaborate in detail just how this is achieved in a number of small musical works. The result reveals that there is a wealth of possible relationships between musical components and the extra-musical stimuli that presumably brought them into being." Siglind Bruhn (Preface) This book was originally published in 1997 by Pendragon Press.

Price: $259.95