Karel Husa - A Composer's Life in Essays and Documents

Price:$199.95 + shipping
(Click the PayPal button to buy)
Karel Husa studied with Nadia Boulanger and Arthur Honegger in France during the 1940s and early ‘50s. He and his music were banned from his native Czechoslovakia during the Soviet era and he emigrated to the USA, subsequently teaching at Cornell University and Ithaca College. He has written works for the New York Philharmonic, the Chicago Symphony, and others. Mr. Husa’s Third String Quartet won the Pulitzer Prize. This is the first book-length monograph exploring his work. Includes photographs and musical examples.


“For this vast array of information in these studies, Dr. Mark A. Radice, Curate of the Karel Husa Archive and Gallery at Ithaca College School of Music, has provided cohesion in his opening essay, in which he offers full biographical data in addition to discussions of everything that Karel has written to date; he has also included selected, edited, and translated correspondence dating back into the 1940s with extensive annotations about personalities and compositions. A bibliography and index complete the collection.” – Donald Hunsberger, Professor Emeritus, Eastman School of Music, Rochester, NY

Table of Contents

• List of Musical Examples
• List of Photographs
• Preface
• Acknowledgements
• Introduction
• Karel Husa: A Biographical Essay (Mark A. Radice)
• Karel Husa: Composer, Conductor, Friend (Steven G. Mauk)
• The Saxophone Works of Karel Husa (Jacob Hardesty)
• Distinctive Serial Aspects of Karel Husa’s Poème (Craig Cummings)
• Working with Karel: A Conductor’s Perspective (Mark Davis Scatterday)
• Concerto for Orchestra (Mary I. Arlin)
• A Formal Analysis of Karel Husa’s Cello Concerto (Paul Osterfield)
• Selected Correspondence of Karel Husa (ed. Mark A. Radice)
• Bibliography
• Chronological Listing of Husa’s works and Index of Works Discussed
• General Index

Other Music-Musicology Books