Five Exotic Scrolls of the Hebrew Bible (Scrolls of the Song of Songs, Ruth, Lamentations, Ecclesiastes, and Esther): The Prominence, Literary Structure, and Liturgical Significance of the Megilloth

Price:$279.95 + shipping
(Click the PayPal button to buy)
This work is a comprehensive, advanced introduction to the five books or scrolls in the Hebrew Bible (Song of Solomon; Ruth; Lamentations; Ecciesiastes; Esther) that constitute the Megilloth, a distinctive minor collection within the canon of the Hebrew Bible.


“By [using the adjective “exotic”], Jerry Gladson invites readers to discover a hidden dimension in their lives, a mystery concealed in plain view like the purloined letter. Sexual attraction is more than the desire to reunite what was once a single unit, at least in fantasy. The power that is stronger than death escorts lovers into paradise, if only temporarily. Bonds that are established through marriage extend beyond bride and groom; a family points beyond itself to a larger entity, society. In hard times when warring hordes threaten society, gifted poets give voice to shared grief. The awareness that what an individual gathers through backbreaking effort must be left behind raises the stakes in everything and forces one to ask the question of questions: What if anything really matters? Moreover, survival at any cost, together with unchecked revelry at others’ expense, exposes a dark side desperately in need of healing.” – Prof. James L. Crenshaw, Duke University

“. . . fulfills the significant need for a comprehensive and exhaustive investigation of [the Megilloth] and enables the reader to view holy texts with a critical and broadened perspective. In addition, Dr. Gladson has undertaken an unprecedented study of the parallel understanding of these books in both the Christian and Jewish traditions. Readers familiar with the place of the texts within their own religious scholarship can now consider the issues in a different context. This unusual and extremely valuable volume is itself “exotic” by the very nature of its scope and scholarship.” –Rabbi Julie S. Schwartz, Temple Emanu-El

“[Gladson’s] thoughtful and well-researched presentation situates readers in historical and ongoing debates among interpreters, and encourages attentiveness to details, ambiguity, and nuance in each book.” – Prof. Christine Roy Yoder, Columbia Theological Seminary

Table of Contents

Foreword by James L. Crenshaw
1. The Five Scrolls
2. The Scroll of the Song of Songs
3. The Scroll of Ruth
4. The Scroll of Lamentations
5. The Scroll of Ecclesiastes
6. The Scroll of Esther

Other Scripture- Old Testament Study Books

More Books by this Author